Go on exchange as part of MIS

As a student at the MIS-programme, it is possible to have international exchange as part of your degree from UiT. In general, this is an option during the second (spring) or third semester (fall), which is based on existing exchange agreements with our partner universities in Saskatoon in Canada, Dilla in Ethiopia, Montana in USA and Canberra in Australia. It will however, be possible to tailor fit exchange to other universities that have an agreement with UiT. Credits taken at one of our partner institutions will be recognized as part of the degree in Indigenous Studies, provided the exchange has been approved by the Centre for Sami Studies in advance.

This page is currently under construction and will be subject to revision.

Foto: Stig Brøndbo

Why wait? International exchange will broaden your insight and open up for new and fruitful experiences. 

You may contact international coordinator at HSL Morten Simonsen Sagerup today for more information on how to apply, preparation, formal requirements and possibilities for financial support.

For queries regarding choice of courses and study plan, please contact Academic coordinator, Professor Else Grete Broderstad or Professor Torjer A. Olsen


Australian National University

Australian National University (ANU) in Canberra is our most recent partner university. A Memorandum of Understanding was signed in 2016. ANU is ranked among the best universities in the world and is leading in indigenous studies in Australia. Students who are interested in topics related to indigenous education, natural resource management, law, native title and human rights should look into the possibilities provided through the MoU.


Dilla University

Dilla University in Ethiopia (DU) is the only university that has established an Institute of Indigenous Studies in the midst of the multi-cultural and multi-ethnic societies in Southern Ethiopia. The centre has been established by, among others, graduates and alumni of UiT. Our cooperation started in 2006 when the first agreement was signed. DU has a focus on interdisciplinary studies relevant both to local communities in Southern Ethiopia and government offices, such as resource management, heritage conservation, climate change adaptation and Language revitalisation. 


University of Montana

University of Montana, Missoula, USA, has been our partner university since 2007. A special focus has been put on topics within indigenous studies such as history, language, literature and cultural diversity.


University of Saskatchewan

University of Saskatchewan, in Saskatoon, Canada (Usask). Through our shared ownership of a joint master's programme, UiT and Usask have been collaborating closely since 2010. The agreement with Usask includes not only social sciences and law, but also nursing and marine and ecosystem based management. 


Foto: Stig Brøndbo

En uventet feil oppstod : Søk feilet:

En uventet feil oppstod : Søk feilet: